Routers at a remote location can be safely configured by using a reload command first. Huh? Read on…..
Before any configuration changes are made, issue a reload command to the remote router:
reload in 30 Instructs the router to reboot in 30 minutes.
reload at 00:00 to reload at a specific time.
The idea behind this is that if you lock yourself out of the router whilst configuring it (assuming you have NOT saved any changes), the router will reload and you should be able to access the router again.
If your configuration changes are successful, a reload cancel command will stop the pending reload.